LAST DAYS OF LEDA GREY

“Leda Grey is utterly beguiling.”

The Times Historical Book of the Month

A bewitching novel about an enigmatic silent film actress, and the volatile love affair that left her a recluse for over half a century – for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier.

During the oppressive heat wave of 1976 a young journalist, Ed Peters, finds an Edwardian photograph in a junk shop in the seaside town of Brightland. It shows an alluring, dark-haired girl, an actress whose name was Leda Grey.

Enchanted by the image, Ed learns Leda Grey is still living – now a recluse in a decaying cliff-top house she once shared with a man named Charles Beauvois, a director of early silent film. As Beauvois’s muse and lover, Leda often starred in scenes where stage magic and trick photography were used to astonishing effect.

But, while playing a cursed Egyptian queen, the fantasies captured on celluloid were echoed in reality, leaving Leda abandoned and alone for more than half a century – until the secrets of her past result in a shocking climax, more haunting than any to be in found in the silent films of Charles Beauvois.

‘A richly evocative story, brimming with intrigue and suspense’ 

M.L. Stedman, author of THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS

GLORIOUSLY EXOTIC MUSIC INSPIRED BY LEDA GREY, COMPOSED AND SUNG BY KIRSTEN MORRISON …

MORE PRAISE FOR THE LAST DAYS OF LEDA GREY

Richly textured … entirely pleasurable. METRO

Shades of Sunset Boulevard in this atmospheric chiller. WOMAN AND HOME

Deliciously eerie affair. SUNDAY EXPRESS

I loved it … I was haunted by it. A memorable and spooky read. BARBARA ERKSIN

A Hitchcockian atmosphere of encroaching dread and menace. HISTORIA MAGAZINE

Truly enchanting and magical … will have you swooning. BRIGHTON AND HOVE INDEPENDENT

A tantalising glimpse into the intriguing world of cinema history. Evocative and haunting…beautifully told … enchanting. ANNE CATER, RANDOM THINGS THROUGH MY LETTER BOX

Fox’s considerable knowledge and obvious delight in this world make for a rich experience for the reader…exoticism, surreal juxtapositions, the smouldering kohl-eyed and chiffon clad sensuality, the crudely crafted magic tricks, the glee and the melodrama of the films… its complex narrative frames plenty of incident, supernatural mystery, and page-turning jeopardy. An engaging read. HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY

Darkly sparkling. ANNA MAZZOLA

%d bloggers like this: